WYAOD: Report

I had promised that yesterday, Saturday 6th Feb 2010, would be the day I dedicated 8 hours to my writing as part of Moonrat’s ‘Write Your @ss Off Day’ challenge. Buoyed by a new comfy chair and an array of normally forbidden snack foods (like Tim Tams and chippies), I set to and had a very productive day, editing through twenty-one scenes (or about 24,000 words, of which at least 2,000 were written yesterday but countered by the 1,600 word scene I deleted as ‘no-longer-required’), but I didn’t make it to 8 hours. After about 6 hours of solid work (with a 1 hour lunch break) my back said ‘Enough!’ to the whole sitting at a computer thing and, while my tummy was full, my brain was empty. I went off and read some inspirational source material for a while (history of kung fu), then was forced to provide some hugs to kitties that felt I’d short-changed them by shutting myself away for most of the day. A thunderstorm rolled in shortly after that, so the primary writing ‘puter had to be shut down for safety reasons.

Still, I do feel I achieved a lot more than I normally do on a weekend, especially as I’ve given myself more time today as well to complete the 8 hour stretch. I’m definitely past the halfway point in the revision of Fall of Bitter Rain and with some momentum now to push toward the finish. There’s an unopened packet of biscuits in the kitchen that have already been designated as ‘motivational snackage’ for another WYAO event next weekend.

Many thanks to Moonrat and all the other writers around the world for providing much-needed inspiration. Cheers all!

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “WYAOD: Report”

  1. TB Says:

    That’s it. I’ve been withholding two expensive computer games as motivation and all you needed was a packet of Monte Carlo biscuits?


    • Hey, look. A Monte Carlo is a reward for getting a chapter finished or spending another hour at the editing. Assassin’s Creed II is a reward for finishing a top-notch revision of what will be a kick-ass novel, yes? 🙂


  2. Sounds like a really successful weekend–congratulations!


Leave a Reply

