Squeeeee! Soundgarden are BACK!

OK. Trying to be calm. Taking a deep breath… Squeeee!

Yes, it’s official (I hope); Soundgarden are reforming in 2010. It may be they only intend to tour a bit this year, then remember why they broke up in ’97; I may not get to see them live; I may not get a new album out of them to listen to over and over again; but I live in hope!

There are very few albums I can listen to when I’m writing. Some are too distracting, others send out the wrong atmosphere. Soundgarden is just right. I don’t know why, but I’ve had Badmotorfinger, Superunknown and Down on the Upside almost on a permanent loop in my writing space. If I listen to these albums when I’m not writing, I yearn to be at my keyboard. The only break in the Soundgarden landscape has been courtesy of Led Zeppelin, Josh Homme and Dave Grohl, or combinations thereof, such as the fantabulous new supergroup Them Crooked Vultures – bliss! Faith No More is also on the playlist and have also reformed recently; big love to all the Aussie FNM fans who’ll be catching the band live next month (lucky bastards :)).

Even better, Soundgarden reforming means my love for them is no longer old-fashioned, blast-from-the-past. It’s now. Thank you, Matt. Thank you, Chris. Thank you, Ben. Thank you, Kim. You inspire me. You are awesome!

Explore posts in the same categories: music, music for writing, Writing

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

