That’s ‘Fronkensteen’

Yes, it been almost a year since I blogged, but it’s not dead, I tells ya; it lives. I haven’t been blogging because I’ve been writing and editing, and re-writing and re-editing (and playing some cool computer games) and writing some more (and watching a bit of telly) and editing some more.

OK – I have let the blog down. I see that now.

Something really big happened, something too big to tell in just one post, and it’s the bolt of lightning needed to reanimate this near-corpse of a blog. I sent my current manuscript off to an agent – hugely ambitious move on my part that resulted in a form rejection BUT I immediately sent the m/s off to a competition.

I won.

Check it out: QWC/Hachette Manuscript Development Program 2009. There’s my name on the list of winners, one of eight who were selected from a longlist of 40 who were chosen from about 130 applications to the program from all over the country.

Over six life-transforming days at a beautiful rainforest retreat, we happy eight had the opportunity to meet with Hachette publishers (Bernadette Foley, Rachael Donovan and Kate Ballard), a literary agent (Sophie Hamley of Cameron Cresswell Agency) and two generous, inspirational, ‘keeping-it-real’ authors, Rebecca Sparrow and Angela Slatter (our QWC guide). The experience has been profound and I’ll blog about it more in future posts. Here, now, I just want to say thank-you (again) to Kate Eltham and the Queensland Writers Centre, Hachette, Bec, Angela and my fellow winners for giving so much and helping me in so many ways.

Watch this blog.

Explore posts in the same categories: self-belief, winning, Writing

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

