I’m Out

Well, another day to feel that familiar sensation of relief mixed with disappointment. I am elated to realise my work was longlisted in the top 34 of 165 submissions in the QWC/Orbit Manuscript Program for Speculative Fiction, and sad not to have made the final 10. I’ve known for weeks now that my work simply isn’t good enough yet. Being longlisted means I’m up there, but I still have long way to go. 

I think it’s time to move on to a different project, at least for a little while. I’ve been working on TDP for a long time now and I feel I’ve lost touch with it. A little distance will help. Moving to my other book will be good motivation right now. I’m also going to a very timely QWC workshop this weekend called ‘How to Conquer Your Inner Critic’, so I won’t be idling. I’ll keep working and trying and hoping, mainly because I don’t know how not to.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Leave a Reply

